First clipless moment

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Rice crispy

So I am new to all this road riding and have just got a new bike and just went for the clipless pedal option. So I'm on my way to uni this evening for a lecture and I pull up to some lights and just roll to a stop and without thinking I just forgot to unclip my foot. Luckily I just sort of floated down with out much impact.

The only problem is I was in the middle of a traffic jam so all of this was mighty embarrassing I just grabbed the bike and legged around the nearest corner. I must say though there was one motorist that was very concerned and very nicely ask if I was ok or if I needed any help.

yenrod

When you 1st get cleated pedals think of them all the time otherwise you fall over!!!

domtyler

Über Member
Don't worry mate, we've all been there once. In a few months it will have become as automatic as breathing.

My first clipless moment was in a traffic jam too. I overtook a line of cars and entered the ASL. However I stopped in a position where I couldn't see the lights well, bent back right to see them, forgetting my right foot was clipped in, cue the slow motion fall :rolleyes:

yenrod

I had a chronic fall-over moment when i was on the old Time pedals, a screw came out of the front cleat and boy could I NOT get it out, ended up having to take the overshoe off & the shoe whilst their was a big queue of cars and a collection of people asking if I was ok...whilst lying on my side ! ! !

VERY EMBARRASSING !

doyler78