First Drop Bar Bike (almost)

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by Boopop, 20 Jul 2012.

1. Boopop

Boopop Über Member

Hi everyone,

I've been commuting to work on my Ridgeback Speed for a good 8 months now however it seems to be wearing out rather quick! I've spent about £200 on getting it repaired already which is mad seeing as it cost me £300 in the first place. Therefore I'm thinking of getting my first racer/ drop bar, and would like some advice on the matter.

I had a racer from the local charity shop when I was at University, but couldn't stand it as it felt like a death trap when I used it. Since then I've been told it's probably because it wasn't adjusted properly for me.

Anyway I'd like to know how much it would cost to get a nice road/racer/dropbar (I'm never quite sure what I'm supposed to call them) bike for commuting and probably long distance cycling too ( 50 miles or so, long distance for me!) which wouldn't need repairing every month when something went wrong!

It's either this or spend a fortune replacing my drive trains on my current bike along with the chain on my current bike which now seems like a waste.

There's a "Muddyfox Pace" bike on Sports Direct going for £160, but I can't find any reviews. What do people think about that? If not that, then what? My budget would probably have a top limit of £300.

Thanks, Tom

2. cyberknight

cyberknight Wibble

What needs replacing in 8 months ?
    Apart from brake pads , chain+ cassette it should still be good to go , the BB should be ok for a while yet too.Tyres + inner tubes should be good for a while yet.
    I reckon on a cassette ,chain + 2 sets of pads a year , my last BB lasted a couple of years .

3. LosingFocus

LosingFocus Lost it, got it again.

Hey.

£300?
    1) Decathlon Triban 3
    2) Halfords Carrera TDF/Virtuoso (maybe, if in budget)
    3) S/hand bargain

4. Mr Finch

Mr Finch Regular