first time tour - on a budget

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

beccam

hi!

im a uni student and we have a field week in Biarritz at the start of October so a few of us thought it might be a good idea to cycle from Calais to Biarritz (approx 650 miles). The only trouble is that none of us have done this before, dont have a bike or any kit except camping stuff and will be restricted by budget. We were thinking of taking it relatively easy and spreading the trip over 2.5-3weeks in order to soak up the scenery and incase anything goes wrong. If anyone has any advice (especially regarding costs!), can reccomend any books/resources or can just point us in the right direction it would be much appreciated :smile:

andym

Über Member
Have a look around on this forum. You'll find lots of information on costs of camping etc in France, as well as budget/entry-level bikes (not to mention the regulations on high-viz gilets in full geeky detail).

50-miles a day would be a reasonable target for average daily mileage allowing for rest days and site-seeing.

One option you might want to consider is cycling along the voies vertes along the coast of the Vendée/Gironde. You could possibly combine this with going down the Loire Valley from Orléans. Possibly not the most interesting option cycling wise but the a good one if you like beaches. Check out:

http://www.voiesvertes.com/

Crankarm

Guru