Front wheel digging in on slow turns

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I'm relatively new to front suspension so it took me a while to identify what was happening even though I recognised something right away.

Say for instance you're climbing quite slowly, bit of a struggle, you need to avoid something and make one of those quick flicks with the bars, short and sharp. At that point I feel the front dig and the suspension compress. Similar thing happens if I misjudge a corner and end up going too slow, the front cuts in too much because I'm not carrying enough speed ( is that oversteer or understeer?). Apart from becoming a better rider, can this be adjusted with an adjustment of fork pressure, tyre pressure or handlebar/stem length? I have increased the fork pressure a bit but I can't remember if that improved it :wacko:

There's nothing wrong with the bike by the way. I've noticed the same thing on other bikes I've hired.

Last edited:
Your fork's rebound setting is set for too slow. What is happening is that your fork is packing up and when it is very low (compressed), you are making a turn. That turn is done with a bike with an effectively steeper head tube angle which causes that digging in feeling when you turn. You don't say what type of fork it is but most of them have rebound settings. It is not a pressure issue at all, unless your sag is completely wrong and you experience what you describe all the time.

Edit: Packing up is when the fork compresses, through a series of bumps, faster than it can return. For instance, first bump is 5mm, recovery time is short before the second bump and the fork only returns 2mm. Second bump is 5mm, recovery time is short before the third bump and so forth.

If you stop, or hit level ground, it will "unpack" again.

Last edited:

13 rider

Guru