Garmin Edge 1000 is it worth the money?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Spiderweb

Not So Special One
I'll be on a 2 week holiday in the Dordogne this summer and will be taking my bike. I'm unfamiliar with the area so am thinking about buying a Garmin. I like the idea of 'round trip routing' where you can decide on how many miles you wish to ride, input into the head unit and it gives you 3 round trip rides to choose from which you can follow like a car sat nav.
The cheapest I can find is £291.95 which is expensive but is it worth the money?
I'm not technically minded so bare this in mind with any advise you friendly folk offer.

ianrauk

Tattooed Beat Messiah
The 1000 has all the bells and whistles, WiFi, Bluetooth, cadence and HR, Power Meter Support, Live Tracking etc? Do you need those?
If not, look at the Garmin Touring (it has choose 3 routes option also but without Wifi, Bluetooth, HR, Cadence, PM and Tracking etc)

The main man for Garmin reviews is DC Rainmaker.
Here's his Garmin review site which goes into quite good detail each of the Garmins.

Edit:

1000 Review HERE
Touring Review HERE

Handtec (very reliable company) have the Touring for £135 (+p&p)

Last edited:
I'll be on a 2 week holiday in the Dordogne this summer and will be taking my bike. I'm unfamiliar with the area so am thinking about buying a Garmin. I like the idea of 'round trip routing' where you can decide on how many miles you wish to ride, input into the head unit and it gives you 3 round trip rides to choose from which you can follow like a car sat nav.
The cheapest I can find is £291.95 which is expensive but is it worth the money?
I'm not technically minded so bare this in mind with any advise you friendly folk offer.