Garmin Edge 500 or 705 - same price

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
OP
OP
Rando

Rando

Veteran
Well going against the grain I have ordered a Bryton Rider 50 for £139. Been dithering for weeks now but the price of the Bryton finally made me decide. Lets hope I don't regret not getting a Garmin 705 !

henshaw11

Well going against the grain I have ordered a Bryton Rider 50 for £139. Been dithering for weeks now but the price of the Bryton finally made me decide. Lets hope I don't regret not getting a Garmin 705 !

Yup, that's the one I ordered. I may well order the hrm strap at some point - my (late 90s ?) polar died - well, ran out of juice - ages ago..I've replaced the watch battery before, but the strap's a return/replace item (used to be 20 quid a long time ago).

FWIW I'm an engineer at a company designing chips for handheld/set-top-box/tablet -type applications, so I'm expecting it to be a little buggy - on the flip side, if the company only has a few products they're working on/supporting, that may mean they're a bit more focussed on fixing things. TBH it's also partly supporting decent competition to garmin - at the moment there's an element of 'no-one got fired for buying an IBM'.

Fiona N

Veteran
For the above reasons I have just ordered a 605. Don't need to know my HR, or how high I am, I also know how fast I'm pedalling without the gps telling me.

Only want it for mapping, and following pre-planned routes. Get ready for several posts on 'how does it work' type topics ;)

I'll be watching to see how you get on as I'm also looking at getting a GPS but am not interested in HRM as I've at least 5 years' supply of Polar kit (which also has a pretty good altimeter)

Probably worth noting I've been mainly considering an Oregon 450 because of the AA batteries rather than the rather specific rechargeables and because I'll potentially use it not on the bike. Any comments from owners would be appreciated.

henshaw11