Gear size

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Wayne1963

Hi this is my first post .
After 30 years off the bike scene I've been told I must get fit,so decided to take up cycling again.
I've bought an old bike that's half converted to a single speed .
The question I need help with is,it's got a rear spoket size 11tooth and a chain ring of 48 tooth,
Obviously this is to tall of a gear and I am wondering what is the best gear ratio for me.
Any throughs.
Regards Wayne

Hi,
I'm also relatively new to the wold of only one gear, but I've been having a rare old time with gear ratios as well.
I switched to single speed because I found that for about 95% of the time, doing my usual cycling around here, I was only using one gear on my road bike - 44:16. Sometimes I would drop to a 14t rear sprocket if I was thrashing downhill, or go up to a 18t for a "climb". Hills around here are pretty lame, it is mostly flat or gentle inclines, so the one gear suite me well. Another reason was that the 14t rear cog was just a fraction too tall for me to push along on the flats/gentle incline, so I stuck with the 16t
I used this ratio of 44:16 as my starting point for my single speed. This given me an overall ratio of 2.75.
For my first build I was able to find a 48t chainring so I matched this with a 17t sprocket to give me an overall ratio of 2.82, fractionally higher than my road bike 44:16, but I was happy to go up a bit rather than down. Since I also used a 172mm crank length I found this fractionally taller ratio pretty much bang on for me.
I'm part way through another build with a 52t chainring that was going spare. If I match this to a18t sprocket I get 2.88 overall ratio, about right for me.

I guess that the solution to your problem could be to ride a borrowed geared bike for a bit and find a ratio that suits your needs. From this you can then match your single speed sprocket and chainring to get your favoured ratio.

Hope this helps,

I

D