gears and other things

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

romany123

Looking for a bit of advice, as I am new to cycling, but pretty fit. (runner. Martial arts etc)

I am looking for a bike that I can use for training and as a a tourer with the occasional footpath thrown in. I am looking at the moment at a Trek 7.3 or 7.5fx. but am open to any other suggestions.

My wife who has never done any training in her life but is reasonably fit, would also like to come touring, but is not interested in the sports site of cycling. Any suggestions on bikes for her? Budget about £500 to £600 for each bike.

Now for a technical question (well it is for me who hasn’t ridden a bike since i was a kid)

We will probably be moving to Devon (lots of hills) within the next year and I have a question about gears.

Doing a bit of research on the net I came up with this

http://www.kenkifer.com/bikepages/touring/gears.htm

In the section on gear planning he gives his own setup.

Now the questions

(a)
Would you have to get the gears made up for your new bike if you went along this route? Or can you request them as standard?

(b)
Does what he says make sense to the more technically minded of you? As we would not want to get the wrong gearing for what we plan to do.

Thanks in anticipation

Dave

chrtho