Giant E Bike: chain and cassette need replaced too often?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Paul.Homer

Hi allafter some help new to asking for help as i am a car tech and thought i knows it all lol my giant e bike eats chains and rear cassettes like 500 miles and 9 th gear is dead chain slips and the teeth are totally knackered came as standard with a SHIMANO Cassette 9 Speed, Electric CSHG200 9134 and 116 link chain i have gone through 3 of these and now this time gone for a cshg400 but 3000 miles from new and 5 chains 4 cassettes seems a bit much what would you fit ???

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
What do you call 9th gear, is it the smallest cog on the cassette?
If it is then I suspect you might be riding in the one gear most of the time and letting the e-assistance keep you moving when really you should be changing to an easier gear.
Putting all that strain through only 1 small gear is a recipe for a short lifespan.

OP
OP
Paul.Homer

Paul.Homer

that was my thoughts but as i live in Peterborough there are not many hills yes i do use 9th 11 tooth gear mostly but i also ride a lot without Battery power i purchased the bike Feb 2018 when i was 23 stone as a weight loss aid now down to 17 stone and ride it like a bike its bloody heavy and hard work

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
that was my thoughts but as i live in Peterborough there are not many hills yes i do use 9th 11 tooth gear mostly but i also ride a lot without Battery power i purchased the bike Feb 2018 when i was 23 stone as a weight loss aid now down to 17 stone and ride it like a bike its bloody heavy and hard work
Maybe a bigger chainring is the answer so your ideal gear is closer to the middle of the cassette. Gives you the opportunity to use more of the gears and a bigger sprocket will wear better.

Blimey. What size is the chainring if you use the 11 so much ??

If you were in the 22 sprocket it would last twice as long if not more

iluvmybike

Über Member