Granny Gears

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cyberknight

As long as I breathe, I attack.
thanks for all your comments however as a beginner i dont have a clue when you start talking 53/38 on the front and 12/27 rear. it means nothing to me. if i understand correctly getting a granny ring means changing the gear shifters so is more expensive. now other mention changing gears on the rear which i am having trouble understanding. how to i know what i have got and what i need, all i do know is that i have 8 gear rings on the rear.
You have a carrera tdf ?If i remember rightly it comes with larger front gears with 52 teeth big ring and 38 tooth small ring.A compact double has 50 and 34 making the gears easier to turn.The back gears of your bike should be a 12-26 or 12 being your fastest and 26 being the easiest by the number of teeth they have,
If you are struggling on hills a lot maybe ask your local bike shop about the possibility of changing the front chain rings from 52/38 to a more friendly compact double as it should not be to expensive to do.After that you could change the rear gears to one with an easier lower gear , specs for your rear derailiier says it goes up to a 26 which you should have but normally you can got a few teeth more.After that you would need a replacement rear derailiier with a longer cage (the little wheels are further apart) so you could use a set of gears with a wider spread.
Do not worry about top end on the flat gears, i do not run out of gears for speed with a compact (50/34) and a 12-26 rear gears till over 40 mph down hill and on the flat i can commute on the flat fully laden at 21 mph mid block on the same rear cassette as you should have.

Rob500

Chainset: Shimano FCA050 52/39
Cassette: 12-26T
BL you've got a 'standard' double chainring setup. How much of a nightmare is your lowest gear 39/26 for you?