Halfords

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

PaulSB

Legendary Member
If you're old enough to ride a bike without stabilisers on it, you're old enough to learn to fix it yourself. It's called growing up and becoming self-reliant. I'd be embarrassed to have to admit I couldn't even do a basic repair or maintenance task on a machine as simple as a bicycle.
That all depends on the individual. I'm old enough to drive a car and can change a wheel. The principal is exactly the same.

Personally I can do tubes and chains. I have no mechanical knowledge or interest. I have never felt inclined to waste the financial and time resources available to me on doing something I was very likely get wrong and still require professional help? Why as a parent of three children would I have spent hours in my garage or spent £££ on tools I could barely use?

I am a loyal customer at my LBS. If I need it and the LBS stock it they get my money. The result of 25+ years loyalty is I can pop in, explain the issue, ten minutes later it will usually be fixed and I'll be enjoying coffee and a chat.

Everyone has different talents, abilities and outlook on life. Simply because your view differs is no reason to suggest they are "poncing" about. I don't agree with your view but I don't dismiss you in this manner but do feel you should learn respect for others.

Last edited:
OP
OP
MonsterEnergy

MonsterEnergy

Enjoy getting your bike back. 👍
thanks
i got it back this morning, and it looks great
the only thing is, it looks as though when i change gear to the biggest cog for the front, it looks as though it woulden;t be able to as the deraillieur looks like it's in the way

Slick

Guru
thanks
i got it back this morning, and it looks great
the only thing is, it looks as though when i change gear to the biggest cog for the front, it looks as though it woulden;t be able to as the deraillieur looks like it's in the way
It will move as you change up. :okay:

rogerzilla