Head tube bearing in my 1960s Carlton

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Johnsco

Old Fettler
I've recently brought my old Carlton back from the dead after some 35 years of neglect.
During this time, a friend (???) borrowed and abused the bike - So badly that it wouldn't go at all when I got it back.
I've a number of questions.
Forgive me if some of them appear elementary.
I'm a reasonably competent engineer, but I've not that much experience on bicycle engineering.
First question:

While riding, I notice a "clacking" sound from the head tube.
To check it out, I pulled on the front brake, and then rocked the bike backwards and forwards against the brake.
I could feel play between the large nut [labelled "B"] and the head tube.
I loosened off the smaller nut [labelled "A"], which I guess locks the larger nut.
I then found that the larger nut was only finger-tight and I could rotate it.
I tightened it about one full turn.
Any more than this appears to stiffen up the steering.
This appears to have eliminated the free-play.
I then tightened down the smaller nut around the stem tube, making sure that the little bracket supporting the brake cable was central.
Now, when I ride over bumps, the "clacking" sound has gone.
Question ... Have I done the right thing ?
Could I have done any damage ?
Is lubrication or replacement of this bearing ever required ?
Is there a "How to" that relates to overhaul of this part ?
Any help or guidance would be most welcome.
Thanks
(Other questions may follow soon !!)

Last edited by a moderator:

rogerzilla

Legendary Member
You've done it right. They repainted over the headset!

BTW, if you're not sure whether the bearings are loose or caged, it helps to lay the bike on its side and undo stuff over a large plastic tray. The ones from pre-packed pork chops or big punnets of mushrooms are just the ticket. I always have a supply to hand.