Hello from Gloucestershire

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Randommoose

Über Member
Hi,

I came across this forum when looking for some information and so decided to join so here I am!

I have a Schwinn Adventurer GS (ladies). When I lived in Surrey I used it for getting to uni and then for commuting (normally with panniers loaded with instruments etc as I am a music teacher). Did about 2500 miles a year. Then I moved to Gloucestershire and on the day I moved, injured both knees (lifting, not cycling) so couldn't ride at all for a while and stairs were bad too. So, that combined with living in the middle of hilly nowhere meant I stopped cycling.

I have recently moved within Gloucestershire and am now in a flat area and my knees are good enough to cycle (not tried any hills or loaded panniers though). So I would like to get back into it! Current commute wouldn't work unless I was fitter (12.5 miles each way) so it will just be pleasure cycling for now. However, in a year and a bit I will be moving, hopefully to London to start a paramedic degree, so I would want to sell my car and motorbike and just use the bicycle to get around.

I am considering getting a different bike as I have some problems with the current one:
a) it is HEAVY (17kgs) and you really feel the weight at times.
:biggrin: I think I want to have drops - I changed the flats to butterfly bars (installed quite flat so I can stretch out) but I still feel I need more stretch to be comfy.
c) it is slow - even when I was fit, about 22mph was the fastest I could get it but average cruising speed was only 16-18mph.
d) the tyres feel 'draggy' (yes they are pumped up to spec) so I think I want narrower tyres.
e) the brakes were constantly needing adjustment (often while riding) to not rub on the wheels. Maybe I haven't found the magic way to adjust it.