Help Needed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi Guys

I am new to biking and I have bought off a friend a Specialized Hardrock Pro, this is fine although I need to change the tyres from MTB to Hybrid/Road Tyres.

I use my bike for road use and canal pathways, I wont ever do off road. My questions is what bike would be best for a) the conditions I have stated above and b) someone new to biking?

Would a road bike be too tough to control/handle due to my limited experience and the tyres being so thin (28)

Many Thanks

Kies

Road bikes can handle well kept canal paths, if you want something that can handle both (rough canal & road) then go for a road hybrid with 28c all terrain tyres.

Have you had any experience of it or are you just looking at the spec?

Other one I quite like is http://www.tredz.co.uk/.Cannondale-CaadX-Tiagra-2013_56422.htm

I don't have direct experience of the CAADX bikes, but FWIW I do own a CAAD10 road bike.

The CAAD frames are regarded as the best alu frames money can buy.

I used to have a Focus Mares CX bike, and whilst it was very good at such time as I'm ever in a position to buy another CX bike it will definitely be a CAADX, although I suspect I'd go for the 105 model :whistle:

The hierarchy of mechanical Shimano components, (in increasing order from the first bike you linked), goes - Sora, Tiagra, 105, Ultegra, Dura-Ace.

So the Tiagra is technically the better bike, but obviously costs more as well, and when you factor in the trickle down effect, ie: this years Sora is last years Tiagra etc, then there's not a lot to choose between them. That said I'd still stick to Tiagra or above, but that's just me, like I said I'd for the 105 version.

U

User6179

Thanks, going to take a trip into town to Evans Cycles and see what they have. Think a CX bike is for me though.