Help please: Tooth capacity Campagnolo Gran Sport

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Can anyone help with the maximum tooth capacity for a 1960's Gran Sport rear derailleur?

i have the min and max cog (14-26) as these are engraved on the back:okay: but an looking for maximum difference in teeth: front large-front small added to rear large -rear small.

I have seen a figure of 18 mentioned which would make sense in a world of 52-46 front rings but i was hoping for a bit more than that.

Any guidance is much appreciated.^_^

Ajax Bay

Guru
I have used such an RD successfully with a 54-40 and a 14-27 block (=27t). HTH
Googling suggests a 28t capacity (maybe your "18t" is a typo for that). How much more do you want? Are you trying to run a triple chainset with it?

Last edited:

Once a Wheeler

…always a wheeler
I have a lot of experience with this gear and its wrap-round limitations. Officially, the limit is 20 teeth. However, if your length of chain-stay and choice of front and rear tooth differences do not hit the sweet spot, it does not quite accommodate 20 teeth. I got round this by leaving out the stop screw on the roller cage. The gear worked perfectly well but when you removed the wheel, the roller cage then wound the chain around itself and it became a bit of a fiddle to get the wheel back in. I was using 42x52 on the front and 14–24 on the rear.

In the end I tired of the Campag wrap-round limitation and tried Huret Allvit gears instead. They were marred by a very imprecise change on the small sprockets, although the underlying concept was good. I then went on to the Simplex parallelogram models and found them fine. Simplex were relatively less well engineered and made from inferior materials; but the added spring at the hanger end of the parallelogram made all the difference. I think it would have gone to a 25 tooth difference easily.