Help restoring Polygon bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

oldjc

Regular
Greetings Folks,

This is my first post, so correct me if I get out of line.

I'm not a bike mechanic by any means but I am pretty handy, and I'm in the process of migrating the parts of a Polygon Cascade 2 hardtail to a new frame. The original frame was damaged by a hit and run.

I'm pretty sure I'll need to get the tool to take apart the chain, and now I think I may need to replace the rear derailleur (but that's another thread). So I've got everything off the old frame except the chain and crankset.

Before I dig into the crankset and possibly do more harm than good, is there any advise you can offer? If you could direct me to a how-to video for this particular model that would be great. This might help: WHEELTOP TCSH2-CFPG 42/34/24T 170 MM. I've looked at several how-to's and don't really know which one, if any, applies to me.

Thanks for bothering to read this and for any help you can offer.

:welcome:!
Tools, you will need some specific tools to remove cranks. I'd invest in a basic toolkit, I got mine from Decathlon. Rather than look for someone dismantling your exact model, have a look at the Park Tools videos on YouTube. They do a good job of explaining things.

T4tomo

Legendary Member
almost certainly a square taper crankset, so you need a square taper crank pulling tool, like a park tools ccp-22.

you can get cheaper copies and ones that use a spanner/ wrench rather than having a built in handle.

View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cPQyQnNdews&t=52s

you simply remove the dust cover off the non drive side crank, attach the tool and wind the crank off.

you may also then need to remove the bottom bracket and refit it to the new frame, avian just watch the relevant park tool video.

OP
OP
O

oldjc

Regular
almost certainly a square taper crankset, so you need a square taper crank pulling tool, like a park tools ccp-22.