Help with clothing?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

porridge

Ok, newbie here, 47 years old, a bit overweight and lacking in confidence about wearing cycling gear and my body. I tend to sweat a lot as it's summer and im overweight.

I am having real problems finding the right gear to wear !, I don't feel comfortable wearing lycra at the m, I just feel too old and fat, I also need to find some gear to wear when its raining !, got drenched last night!

At the moment I'm dressed like worzel gummidge, oh I also feel a prat wearing shorts, I am ok in the morning because there are few people about when I get in, but I dread the afternoon walk from the office to the bike ;)

Finally, how on earth do you guys cope with the winter weather?, cold and raining.

Cathryn

Legendary Member
Hello

Welcome to the site. Don't worry at all about lycra - there's nothing very attractive about it, in my opinion anyway. Even the TdF boys look a bit dodgy in it! The only bit of lycra I would recommend are padded shorts. They'll change your world...but you can wear normal baggies over the top so you look like a normal person!!

If you don't like shorts, how about jogging bottoms or combat trousers? You'll need to tuck in the bottoms, but that would be fine. My husband's quite solid and refuses to wear normal cycling gear too. He wears stuff from walking shops or running shops, so clothes that 'wick' but don't look so cycle-y. Add a fleece and you're done.

It IS worth spending money on a cycling waterproof - they come up to xxl at least so I'd go and brave a shop and see what you end up with. You can also get cycling trousers but I've not yet found any that are really that waterproof.

Don't worry about winter yet ;) Summer's not been great, so if you can survive summer, you'll be fine. You'll just wear more.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Get some MTB specific stuff - i.e. baggy - baggy shorts/top/waterproofs