HGV Safety awareness

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Andypenson

I am a Product Design Student at Nottingham Trent University and currently trying to design a product that will help reduce HGV cyclist accidents by making the drivers more aware of the cyclists around them. It would be a great help if anyone could fill out the survey below to increase my research.

https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/22FDJR5

Thank you to anyone that fills it out its only 4 questions will take 10 seconds and hopefully it'll help solve a problem on the roads.

Drago

Legendary Member
You need to design a device that makes employers not hire chumps on the minimum wage or pay tipper truck drivers by the load. With some professional drivers not flying round like Ben Hur to earn a living wage then thing might improve.

Spinney

Bimbleur extraordinaire
I've answered in the negative.
My 'issues' with HGVs is them overtaking too close, or starting to pull in too soon after overtaking me.
In neither of these cases would a chip/tracker make any difference.

The main issues with HGVs, as I understand it, are in cities. My riding is mostly rural.
And for HGVs in cities, @Drago has the idea!

OP
OP
A

Andypenson

This basic idea is alert the driver of a cyclist in its area meaning they should check take precautions knowing a cyclist is around them. Hopefully reducing the amount of idiotic driving that takes place.

Brandane

Legendary Member
I've done the survey, although I am not sure of its usefulness. Is it too much to ask that HGV drivers make themselves aware of cyclists by using their eyes, and mirrors; and that cyclists contribute to their own safety by giving HGV's enough space? Presumably for this chip idea to work, there is going to have to be a warning system of some sort in the cab, so yet another distraction. In a place like London, the warning is going to be sounding all the time, so will either get ignored or somehow disabled.

OP
OP
A

Andypenson