Hi everyone, newbie here.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

twinkletoes

Regular
so I've bought my first bike in 20 years i went with a giant escape 2 i will start commuting to and from work 24 mile round trip. I was just after a bit of advice in regards to what sort of things should i carry for repairs i will be using a back pack rather than panniers for now. and also what extra/type of food do you carry to work sorry for the daft questions.

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
My toolkit: https://www.cyclechat.net/threads/how-and-what-do-you-carry-when-you-go-cycling.262174/

Food: I usually carry a flapjack or two. Often little shop-bought sugary processed ones like Frusli because it seems an OK mix when it's only for miscalculations (the dreaded "bonk" or hunger knock or man with the hammer) and they keep a while. I would probably take a home-made pot of muesli and yoghurt if riding 12 miles in and there was a way to make coffee when I arrived.

I'd really try to find some way to move the luggage onto the bike. Your less sweaty back will thank you.

DCLane

Found in the Yorkshire hills ...
If it's for commuting then I might have a flapjack or fruit.

My commute's a similar 12 mile each-way route, or was until Covid meant I became home-based until September. I do use a backpack rather than panniers but got a proper cycling one; I've a cheap Aldi/Lidl £10 backpack for most things but also have a Deuter Speedlite 15 litre one that I use mostly - it's got padded back sections that let air get in.

annedonnelly

Girl from the North Country
As you're communting you should be able to keep some stuff at work to save you carrying it back & forward. I used to leave my heavy locks at the station (lots of spare bike stands so not being anti-social) and things like waterproofs, spare clothes in the office.

I hate backpacks at anytime so panniers all the way for me.

CanucksTraveller

Macho Business Donkey Wrestler