Hi from Derbyshire

Status
Not open for further replies.
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

RachelB

Hi everyone my name is Rachel in Derbyshire, England. I am a total beginner and I joined as a am wanting to learn about Cycling and to take it up to connect with my dad who is a HUGE Cyclist! I want to learn everything I can about road cycling and then to hopefully surprise him with my knowledge and riding abilities and to then go on a cycling holiday with him I think he will love it and be totally shocked! It's a secret mission basically ha, I hope to get lots of advice and tips here pretty please, I don't even have a bike yet!! Thanks, Rachel xx

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
Wow! What a lucky dad.

You have come to the right place :okay:. No need to say Derbyshire England, this is a predominantly UK website so we know where Derbyshire is :laugh:

Unfortunately, Derbyshire also usually means hills so you might have to work a bit harder than someone from say..... Norfolk.

I'm sure your dad would love to have you along on a few rides regardless of speed or distance so don't worry massively about getting super fit before surprising him. Has he not tried to encourage you to cycle with him already?

Despite the hills, Derbyshire has some amazing cycling locations, truly epic, mind blowing roads and scenery so you are already off to a head start compared to someone living in that grotty 'down south' :laugh:. If you want to do some rides with him before you take to the roads then maybe ask if he can join you for a ride on one of the ex-railway type trails like the Tissington, High Peak or Monsall trails.

What kind of cycling does your dad do, road, touring, MTB, etc?

Oh, welcome to the forum :hello: