Hi, I'm James.

• Thread starter Deleted member 20519
  • Start date
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
D

Deleted member 20519

Hi! I got introduced to this site by a guy on Youtube called CyclingMikey.

I'm 14 and I live in Paisley, Scotland. I've wanted to cycle for a while and I'm finally doing it. I wasn't very good at the start (mainly quite shy and not wanting to be killed) but I've gained some confidence and I'm getting better at it.

I'm a complete novice. I recently fixed up my run-down BMX bike, I suppose it was 'cool' when I was 10 but I wish I'd gotten a mountain bike, or something with gears and suspension! It's not the ideal bike for cycling but it works. I've been out on the roads for just under a week now, the bike's not coped very well. I've had multiple problems with brake pads, tyre misalignment, the chain and some other stuff. Hopefully it's all good now though, I just need to get some washers to tighten the back tire and I should be good to go.

I'm kitted out. I wear a helmet, a high visibility vest, my bike has lights and reflectors and I carry around an allen key if anything needs adjusted. I've been cycling around two miles a day and compared to some peoples posts of 'I go 20 miles when I want to take it easy', it might not seem much. From nothing to two a day, it's good for me.

And this is my bike - it's an Apollo XRated Decoy 07 which I paid around £300 for in 2009.
http://i.imgur.com/rXc7N.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/23DSp.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/LOoIm.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/ilHqT.jpg

Steve H

Large Member
Welcome aboard James. Two miles is about how much I started with a few years back. It soon builds up! Enjoy

summerdays

Cycling in the sun
Two miles on a BMX probably counts for more in real life:laugh:!!

Two comments - is the saddle not straight? and the chain does look a little slack in the third photo I think - but I'm on the small laptop so it's hard to see. Nice orange colour.

Welcome.

Peteaud

Veteran