Hill intervals

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Dogtrousers

Kilometre nibbler
I've never done any "training" before. I've always been happy just to go for rides. Pretty much all of my riding is recreational longish rides (100-200km with occasional longer ones). I've always seen training as just "cycling that you don't enjoy" and hence a bit pointless. Real life being what it is I'm restricted to two or three rides per month. Commuting isn't convenient at the moment (and anyway I really don't like it, so tend not to do it even if I can).

However, with London-Wales-London 400k next year I've decided to do a bit of training with the specific target of ... er ... well I'm not sure. I'll come back to that.

What I've been doing is once a week setting out to a local hill and riding up and down it (actually a circular route, with all left turns). It takes me about 2.5-3 minutes to ride up and I've been riding so I'm gasping for breath at the top, then I roll down slowly to recover (about 2 min), and repeat. I've been trying to do about 10 reps which takes about an hour, then a gentle 2-3km ride back home. Once a week.

So, I guess this is "interval training". My hope is that it will insulate me a bit from the rigours of hills. My problem with long distance riding is that while I can churn out a regular, if modest, pace on the flat for hours and hours, when I get tired I find myself going into bottom-gear slow-grind mode on even the most un-challenging of inclines. I have quite good reserves of endurance in terms of time (if that makes any kind of sense), but I'd like to be able to retain my ability to go uphill for a bit longer.

Questions: While I doubt it will do me any actual harm, is a once a week interval session frequent enough to be useful? Is the idea of a short interval session as a component of* prep for a 400k ride idiotic?

* Edit, text added.

Last edited:
Last question answered first. Yes.
First question: No.