Hip bones

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ShinSplint

I've noticed, since I started cycling about 6 months ago, i've completely lost the small amount of fat around my hips. In that specific area, particularly at the front, its literally just skin and bone. The strange thing is, although my stomach shrank a fair bit, there's still a bit there - if only I could take some from here, and stick it on my hips ;)

Who else has experienced the hip thing??

The question - are there any exercies I can do to build muscle around that area? Squats maybe??

Thanks!

Globalti

Legendary Member
Er... you want fat on your hips?

Presumably you're a woman? Apparently women have a greater proportion of subcutaneous fat than men, that's fat under the skin. It's what makes girlies more cuddly.

There aren't any muscles on the hips that I'm aware of. I'm no expert but possibly you have lost the subcutaneous fat but are finding it harder to shift the intra-abdominal fat that's in your body cavity, this is the fat that surrounds your internal organs and is much more difficult to deal with. If that's not the problem perhaps some exercises would help to build muscle tone at the front of your stomach. I find that so much of that is posture: if I slouch and relax my muscles my stomach flops out but if I stand straight and keep my stomach taught it looks flat. This kind of erect posture becomes second-nature after a while.

arallsopp

Post of The Year 2009 winner
Fat tends to redistribute pretty slowly. I always lose it off my face first, then arms, legs, chin, and finally stomach. Echo what Rigid Raider says. Regain balance by standing with your pelvis tilted forwards to 'cup' your belly and then you'll be slim all over.

If you want to be bigger all over, 2 pairs of shorts.:biggrin:

OP
OP
S

ShinSplint

Rigid Raider said:
Er... you want fat on your hips?