How long does your cable's last

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

johnnyb47

Guru
Hi,
Just more curious than anything, but how long do your cable's last (eg brake / gear cable's)
I've been using Wilkos cable's and I've been quite impressed by there longevity.
The rear derailleur cable finally gave up today at around 20,000 miles.It was badly frayed and on it's last few strands were it enters the brake lever.
I wish my car was as reliable and cheap to run as my bike

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
I don't think I have ever changed the cables on my best bike, which I have been riding for nearly 20 years.

I have replaced snapped or frayed cables on a couple of other bikes after a lot of use.

Generally, not an issue.

Tyres and brake blocks are the things that need replacing fairly frequently. I have also worn a few wheel rims out from braking on steep descents in winter with salt and grit on the rims. Note to self - get disk-braked CX bike ready for next winter!

Ming the Merciless

There is no mercy
50,000 miles and still going on road bike. Original on recumbent as well but that is newer on less miles so far. I use bar end shifters. In days of STIs on road bike I’d need to replace cables about every 10,000 miles.

CanucksTraveller

Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
I've got a Trek that's about 14 years old and that still has the original cables. (Trigger shift gear changers and straight linear pull brakes, which probably helps seeing as there's no extreme angles or bends).

Scotchlovingcylist

Formerly known as Speedfreak
I dont think I've ever changed a cable on any of my bikes and they all have thousands of miles under them collectively.
Combination of mtb and road bikes, I've worn wheelsets/brake pads and even handlebars out before cables.

Ajax Bay

Guru
Confess surprise at others' comments on their cables' longevity. Perhaps those special bikes are not ridden much :biggrin: