How to improve my average speed?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

kiwifruit

Über Member
Hi all, I've been cycling since 2015 and cycle 3 or 4 times a week and my average speed hasn't improved much from when I started around 12mph on a 20 mile loop, now I average around 13.5 mph on the same loop. Yesterday I did a shorter route with less gradients I just manage 13.6mph. Looking at my strava data most of my rides give my watts output of around 145 watts. Yesterday I was looking at a rider stats who I was following his watts output shows 116watts and averaging 15.6 mph on a 34 mile loop. I just want to improve my average speed to 15mph anybody could give me some advice?. Hope it make sense my eng!ish is not the good. Thanks.

EltonFrog

Legendary Member
Pedal faster.

I don’t know your build, but if you can lose any weight that will help. The same number of watts will be able to move less weight faster.

I’m assuming you’re riding a road bike or reasonably lightweight hybrid? A heavy mountain bike won’t help your cause.

The other way of getting faster is to target your training to improve wattage output. Going out 3 or 4 times a week for 20 miles at the same intensity while good, isn’t going to improve your output as much as a targetted training regime including intervals and sessions in specific training zones.

There is probably a lot of information on the internet about training plans to study, or alternatively employ an online coach. I know a few people who’ve gone down the coach route and improved their speed massively.

Alternatively, enjoy the countryside, listen to the birds, drink beer and enjoy your riding. One thing is certain, if you go down the improvement route it won’t get any easier, you’ll just go faster.

Or, to simplify (as Carl has above), pedal faster (but not all the time).

Venod

Eh up