Hybrid Bikes - Beginner

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Freerider888

Hi All,

First time poster and a complete beginner with bikes. Trying to buy a bike during COVID-19 as figured it's a good time to start getting out and exercising. However it isn't easy as as far as I am aware bike shops aren't physically open - only online or for click and collect, so I'm going in a bit blind without trying anything for a test ride.

Pretty sure I want a hybrid bike and most research seems to point to the Halfords brands Subway 2, Crossfire 2 or 3.

I quite like both the Crossfire bikes, but have also looked at the GT Transeo Comp Bike 2020 -

https://www.chainreactioncycles.com...e/hybrid-city-bikes?f=2247,2632&sort=pricelow

Can any one advice which bike is best on paper or by experience - Crossfire 2, 3 or GT Transeo?

Thanks.

OP
OP
F

Freerider888

Looked at a similar thread on here and settled on a Trek FX 2 Disc 2020. Much better bike by the looks of things. Got it for £425.

OP
OP
F

Freerider888

Good bike, and nothing in your post suggests a need for heavy suspension :okay:

Thanks Vickster. And yes, no need for suspension - mostly going to be on road / pavement and although I liked the idea of suspension I heard it's really not worth it on a relatively low value bike like this - just adds unnecessary weight for little benefit.

ShaneWBA

Looked at a similar thread on here and settled on a Trek FX 2 Disc 2020. Much better bike by the looks of things. Got it for £425.
Have you got it/been out on it yet? And do you mind me asking where you got it at that price please?

In the market for a new bike myself, much like yourself I’m debating the FX 2 Disc and also like the idea of suspension for canal paths I will be using but every post seems to advise no suspension for my use lol

Bonefish Blues

Banging donk