Hybrid or cyclocross

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I've been cycling to work for the last 6 months on a Specialized Crosstrail, it's a 7.5 mile ride on mainly road and cycle route pathway next to a tramline. I have been doing this fine however I have recently been suffering from backache from the riding.

It must be down to the riding position, I've been thinking of buying a cyclocross on the c2w as I've always preferred the drop bars and I've read it's a more comfortable riding position.

What's people's opinions on this? Would it make much difference comfort wise to go for the cyclocross and what sort of speed difference would there be between hybrid and cyclocross?

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
IMO you can get comfy on any bike if you dial in the right position. I have a hybrid for commuting that is also good for 100+ miles when necessary and there is little to pick between hybrid and my modern drop bar road bike in the comfort stakes. I also have an MTB that is rapidly approaching 20 years old and that too is good for 100+ miles (I did a 100 mile ride in 2012 and was sweet at the end, could've done more!!).
I do find that when using my road bike I rarely use the drops. Most common is to ride on the hoods (brake levers) then sometimes on the tops for a change of position. When I do ride using the drops I feel slightly less in control but this might just be me? For all intents and purposes I could cut off all the bars below the brake levers and never really notice.
I think drop bar or flat bar comes down to personal preferance (IMO flats and bar ends are best) but I reckon you need to tinker with the position on your current bike before changing to a new ride altogether. I always thought I liked my rides long and low but it was a bit of a shock when I realised I was feeling a bit cramped on the road bike and I was much happier once the stem was flipped to give a higher bar position.

P.H

Über Member