I have a dream. Dream of having my own brand mtb.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

silverman

Before you guys ask, no I'm not the reincarnation of Martin Luther King, but I do have a dream. The difference is Dr King's dream came true, but mine is a bit crazy. I have a pretty good hunch that I'm way out of my depth but I will share it anyway. :-) First a lil background about me; I'm not a technical person, and my knowledge of bikes is pretty basic. I have ridden bikes since I was a kid, but only recently since I bought my Cube ltd 2012 last year, I've become fascinated by bikes and especially mountain bikes. My background is in web development, internet marketing & branding, but I had this crazy dream that with partnering up with someone who is super technical and passionate who knows how to design frames and build bikes, I could launch my own brand of British made bikes. My idea is to sell only online & rather than spending money by disributing the bikes in high streets, spending it to incorporate better components for the bike. I was thinkng along the lines of 3 or 4 models to start with, with an entry model at £450 to £600.
Do you think I'm barmey or do you think it could be done and may even succeed? What kind of investment do you think is necessary to get a project like this going? It will be great to hear your thoughts.

Paul99

Über Member
What kind of investment do you think is necessary to get a project like this going? It will be great to hear your thoughts.
At least 7 zeroes.

KneesUp

Guru
You could get batches of a dozen or so Ti or carbon frames made in China to fit up and sell, but they'd need to be expensive at that quantity. If you want to be able to knock them out at £600 you need to order a lot of frames and components (very expensive) or sell them at a loss with the hope you can build up enough customers to be able to order quantities large enough to make a profit (potentially just as expensive)