Intimidated by more experienced cyclists :/

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Anonymous1502

I would like to join a cycling club however I am a beginner cyclist and I am not a very fast cyclist I would like to join a cycling club as cycling in groups sounds fun and I could potentially learn new cycling routes. However I am worried that I am too slow and I will get left behind and I am not too good with hills either.

Jimidh

Veteran
Depends on your area and what cycling clubs you have around you.

Yes some clubs can be elitist butothers are very welcoming of beginners and have various different groups going out of differing abilities.

Look up British Cycling and Cycling UK for clubs in your area and check their websites to see what type of activities they are up to.

mythste

Veteran
Where abouts are you based?

Most areas have a huge but quiet contingent of people just like you, except they have each other which makes the whole thing a lot lovelier for everyone involved. I know a bunch of people in the Northwest who would gladly help but outside of that I'm sure between the forum we have most areas covered!

vickster

Legendary Member
Plenty of ladies club runs which may appeal :smile: There’s also the Breeze rides to look at

Some of the large London clubs might be a tad full on judging by the groups of Lycra warriors I see on a Sunday around SW London!

DCLane

Found in the Yorkshire hills ...
It'll depend on the club. Mine's got a Ladies' section who have three basic rules, paraphrased by me as: 1. Every lady is important, no matter how fast or slow. 2. Stop and wait at the top of every hill. 3. Don't laugh at the slower ladies. Men are allowed but any who don't behave are disposed of. They've gone from 0 five years ago to at least 60 currently as a result of respecting every rider.