Is it too late to start again?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Saluki

World class procrastinator
At 50 its time to stop working for others, ride bikes, play guitars, and be a bum. That's what I do, and I'm an expert at it.
I'm with BOAB on this.
I was 50 last week, I am sorting out a new business so that I can have a total change of career (not sure if career is the word really) and in a couple of months I am looking to move house to Cornwall or Devon or somewhere similar. We are having a total change.

Just do it. You are never too old to do what you want to do.

Dave 123

Legendary Member
Do you need to bother with another degree?
What are your practical skills?
By the time you have your degree you could have set up a nice little business.

Moon bunny

Judging your grammar.
Who said you are 50 ?
My Dad was was a self employed contractor from aged 50 onwards, his CV always had his age as 10 years younger.
He finally gave up work when aged 65 (or 80 in real years)

He always claimed you are as old as the woman you feel (and she was considerably younger)

Since age discrimination legislation came into force, there is no need to put any age or date of birth on a CV.

ASC1951

Guru
...Sadly there's nothing I can change. There is a recruitment freeze at work and with no one to take up my work I'd not get any voluntary redundancy. There are a good many incompetent staff in my place of work and none of them have been got rid of or been given any form of disciplinary for that matter, so there's no chance of that either..
Well, that does at least simplify your decisions! In my early years in local government I saw people in their 40s just going through the motions until early retirement, so I left in my early 30s to set up my own business and have never regretted it. My philosophy was 'I might be working for an idiot, but at least I wasn't surrounded by them'.

Two warnings:-