I've got a cold.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

byegad

Legendary Member
You need to take two paracetamol carefully put them by your bed and drink a tumbler full of whisky. Stay in bed for three days drinking whisky whenever you wake. On day four throw the paracetamol in the bin and resume life.:biggrin:

To anyone not full of cold the above is good for a quiet weekend too.

punkedmonkey

You have a fever! Not recommended to cycle. Your body is expending enough energy as it is trying to combat that!

I was reading about this in an article in a running book and they were saying worst case you can end up with the infection moving into your heart! I think that is an extreme case - but it certainly will make me think twice!

Note... IANAMP (I am not a medical professional).

OP
OP
Sara_H

Sara_H

Guru
You have a fever! Not recommended to cycle. Your body is expending enough energy as it is trying to combat that!

I was reading about this in an article in a running book and they were saying worst case you can end up with the infection moving into your heart! I think that is an extreme case - but it certainly will make me think twice!

Note... IANAMP (I am not a medical professional).

Funny you should say that. My boyfriend, who's also a nurse, but a clever cardiac type super nurse just mentioned the same thing - going to dust the car keys off! :biggrin:

Cubist

Still wavin'
Yep, that chest and fever mean you've got a flu-like virus. Don't cycle, all the sports coaches I know go absolutely mad if anyone even tries to exercise with flu.

Andrew_P

In between here and there
I have a theory that working up further heat and sweating helps combat the virus. No medical proof though!!

mgarl10024

Über Member
I don't think you should be working either!!!!!

Working with a cold is a really tricky subject, and I still don't know the answer.