Job type vs cycle miles

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Rooster1

I was right about that saddle
I sit at a desk all day. I covered 5000 miles last year. I am also a liar, it was 4500 miles and 150,000 feet of climbing.
I go out at lunch time to de-stress, and get fitter.

derrick

The Glue that binds us together.
The last year i was working as a mechanic i covered 7500 miles for that year, i retired last year and my mileage for that year was 7500+, So i would say nothing to do with the type of work you do, Just how many miles you want to ride. :okay:

Shaun

Founder
I sit behind a desk all day too, but for me it's more about how little free personal time I have (coupled with an inflexible commuting time window) that limits my total available mileage for the year. I enjoy the miles that I do manage to fit in though. ^_^

Brandane

Legendary Member
It must have some sort of influence. e.g. a couple of summers ago I had a cushy job in a shop 15 miles away; 10 am to 5 pm, so I commuted by bike as much as I could (i.e. when DRY) via a deserted unclassified road. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Unfortunately business wasn't good and the shop closed down.
I ended up going back to HGV driving, for an agency. Then began shifts with different companies, the closest of whom are 25 miles away, via "suicidal for cyclists" trunk routes. Early starts between 6 and 9 am normally; and non specific finishing times - but you could guarantee it would be somewhere between 10 and 15 hours after the start time. Plus a load of stuff to carry every day, because as stated, you don't know where you are working from one day to the next. Cycle commuting is simply not an option (for me. Yes I know there are super heroes out there who commute 100 miles each way in all weathers along the busiest craziest trunk roads in the world, but I value my life more than I do cycling).