Kinesis Crosslight wheel components

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Proto

Legendary Member
I’ve got a pair of 2015 (?) Kinesis Crosslight CX disc wheels which need rebuilding - keep breaking spokes, alum nipples are seized. The rims and hubs are ok. I’m new to wheelbuilding but keen to have a go. Easy enough to measure the spokes and source new ones but I’m curious to know where Kinesis sourced the parts.

Rims are 24mm wide, 20mm internally and 22mm deep, with eyelets, 28 holes.
i can’t identify the hubs. As far as I can tell they are not Powerway, Chosen, Bitex, nor Novotec.

I’d like to work from ‘first priciples’ so I can use a spoke calculator to confirm the correct spoke lengths.

Anyone know what they used?

Big John

Guru
You can still use a spoke calculator even if you don't know who's rim or hub you've got. You can do the manual measurements yourself and enter them into the calculator. You'll need the ERD for the rim so Google how to do this - it'll be a better explanation than I can give here. You'll also need various measurements from the hub. The spoke calculator may tell you how to do this but again Google may be able to help. If not try the Sheldon brown website for advice. From memory it's distance from centre of hub to left flange, distance from centre of hub to right flange and the radius to the centre of the spoke hole in the flange. I vaguely remember having to measure the thickness of the flange too. Hopefully the answer you finally get back will equal the length of the spokes you have.

OP
OP
Proto

Proto

Legendary Member