Kitchen Kalamities

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

EltonFrog

Legendary Member
My sister in law just messaged The Fragrant MrsP to tell her she and some children in her care made a cake, when licking the mixing spoon one of the kids said it didn’t taste very nice. While the cake was baking she noticed when clearing up that she used garlic butter in the mixture.

45 years ago, on my first day as a trainee chef, I was told to keep an eye on 48 profiteroles, take them out in 20 minutes the chef said. 6 hours later he asked me when I was going to take them out of the oven. They were like little charcoal bricks. Didn’t do that again.

Tell us about your culinary cock ups, your baking blunders and your frying faux-pas.

sleuthey

Legendary Member
My mum basted the Christmas turkey half way through cooking thinking she had a 1L bottle of vegetable oil but it was in fact Lime Cordial.

My MIL is partially sited. I bought my wife a bundle of Daffodils in bud, the MIL then put them on the chopping board thinking they were Spring Onions

Last edited:

CanucksTraveller

Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
When I was first learning to cook I didnt really know my weights and measures and I first learned at a German produce market that just because mushrooms are priced by the kilo, it doesn't mean you need to ask for a kilo. Oh and asking for a kilo of mushrooms gets you a very, very large amount indeed. I was eating my way through that carrier bag full for days.

Also about that time I attempted something out of the Good Housekeeping cookbook from about 1960, bequeathed to me by my Mum. Chicken Brazilian was the rather exotic name of the dish. I had no idea what I (or the recipe writer) did wrong, but it tasted of bitter, floury, chickeny marmalade. Disgusting.

Bazzer

Setting the controls for the heart of the sun.
Not one of mine, but Mrs B's.