Knocking noise from the freewheel area.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Melonfish

Evil Genius in training.
I'm about to replace my freewheel, mostly because one of the cogs is worn to hell so it slips!
however i have a nice rhumba beat as i cycle, now will replacing the freewheel sort this or should i look at stripping out the freehub and cleaning it too? i only get the noise as i pedal not as i freewheel (which actually makes me think it perhaps isn't the freehub?)

whilst i'm at it, its a 7 speed hybrid with 3 cogs on the chainset, its got a large climb gear 34T should i just do the regular method of measuring round the largest cogs plus 2 links or should i get a specific chain length?

and finally, i want to replace the skewers with quick release, i take it any standard mountain bike/hybrid ones should be fine? can anyone suggest any particular brand?
thanks!
Pete

calibanzwei

Linking the thread I started on the same freewheel issue fella :thumbsup:
http://www.cyclechat.net/threads/tapping-out-a-rumba-beat.84325/

compo

Veteran
Just to clarify: You say you have a 7 speed freewheel, but also speak about the freehub. Freewheels don't use a freehub, they screw directly onto the wheel hub. It is possible you have a 7 speed cassette with spacers behind it but they are not common. The cassettes slide onto a freehub and are secured by a locking ring. I would lay a guess you have a freewheel rather than a cassette. Which do you think you have on your wheel?

For chain length, yes your biggest to biggest plus a couple of links will give you the length. The other way of course is to count the links on your current chain.

When you say you want to replace the skewers with quick release items I assume you want to remove the wheel axles and replace with quick release skewers. You will need hollow wheel axles for the QR skewer to go through the middle. Also a good opportunity to replace your wheel bearings whilst the axles are out.

compo