Larger beginner giving a wave from the North West.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

biglad

Hiya guys.

I'm a beginner from the North West UK... Infact, I don't think I could even be considered a beginner, since I don't even own a cycle!

I'm at a point where I'm looking in the mirror, and I'm not liking what I see. I'm just tipping the scales at 20 stone. I've spent the last 10 years sat at home, eating take away's and playing PC games. It's been fun, especially for a more reclusive chap. But after a sharp wakeup call from my GP, I've realised that there's more for me out there. I'd like to focus my energies on making my life longer, and better. Not shorter, and rubbish. So here I am, taking the first steps into some intimidating territory!

I've browsed through the forums for a few hours or so prior to registering, and it seems like a positive and friendly community. I know there isn't much I can do by way of actually contributing since I'm so clueless, and although I know I will be asking a lot of questions of you guys, I do hope that in a few years, when I'm not panting after that long walk up the stairs to my computer, I will be able to repay the favours by maybe offering some advice of my own.

So thats me! Looking forward to getting to know you guys.

BrumJim

Forum Stalwart (won't take the hint and leave...)
Look to the Amazing Shrinking Gaz for advice (gb155 on here) and inspiration. Got down from 37 stone to 14 by cycling.

Your not alone, not unusual, and not without support on here. Go for it, and find a new body.

OP
OP
biglad

biglad

Nice one guys,

I'm perusing some LBS sites at the moment (check it out, my first cool abbreviation! I'll be 13 stone in no time! haha.) Theres a couple I plan on calling up tomorrow and having a gab with, I'll keep you updated :smile:

Thanks again for the warm welcome guys.

FetterSteve

Hi Biglad,

Welcome.