Laura Trott interview about London cyclist

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Davidsw8

2629814 said:
Yeah but it is nonsense. When car drivers say "all cyclists jump red lights" they don't mean literally. What they mean is they don't like sharing roadspace with cyclists and use a convenient artificial pretext to articulate that. Take that reason away and another will be substituted.

As I say, I don't believe giving up because (apparently) people won't change is a very helpful attitude. There's no harm in trying to affect a change.

Chin up :thumbsup:

ComedyPilot

Secret Lemonade Drinker
Strange - as a driver, I have never had to stop and remonstrate with a person on a bike about how they have slowed me down, how they should be in the gutter/to the left of the lane. Nor have I ever been told to look on YOOCHOOB for my number plate, or been corrected at the road side on the actual meaning of VED. I haven't been involving in a 10mph rolling argument through the passenger window with a cyclist either........

Davidsw8

2629945 said:
There is if you fail to understand the problem to be addressed before you start.

I'm pretty sure I understand Adrian, as I'm pretty sure you think you understand too.

Maybe you have some suggestions as to how to improve things (assuming you think they need improving) for cyclists?

Davidsw8

2629962 said:
If you think that eradicating cyclists jumping red lights would mean no more tension between cyclists and motorists than sorry I don't think you do understand at all.

As for improving matters, easy. One strike and you are out. That would encourage drivers to be careful.

Ah, reductio ad absurdum... No, saying 'no more tension' would certainly be unrealistic but I reckon 'less' is most certainly achievable.