LBS making excuses?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Inertia

I feel like I could... TAKE ON THE WORLD!!
Hi guys, a colleague at work has asked me if I think this is normal and I said no but just in case I wanted to just see what you all thought as Im no expert :-D

She bought a bike two months ago from a LBS, she had problems with it and took it back, the guy there said she had wore the middle cog out because she didn't use the other gears. This sounds like bullsh*t to me but his argument was that its an expensive bike and the metal is 'soft'. It sounds like he basically making her feel like she is riding it wrong as she doesn't use it for its normal purpose (she commutes to work on it)

She has only done about 400 miles.

http://www.trekbikes.com/uk/en/bikes/mountain/sport/skye/skye_sl/#

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
No way, 400 miles would not wear a chain ring - I assume it's the chain ring ?, if it's a cassette sprocket (on the wheel), then it's possible that the sprocket has worn if it's been run full of crud.

If it had seen 400 miles 'real' off road, and been poorly maintained, then it's a possibility.

Taking the wee wee.

What is the 'problem' with the bike ?

Hawk

Veteran
Oh yeah, absolute crap, "riding on the same ring too much" isn't an excuse for mechanical problems on an old bike or a new one. What problems was she having?

OP
OP
Inertia

Inertia

HI Fossy, her description was pretty difficult to follow "I pedelled and RAWR and ..no power" Ive been to look at it now and myself and another colleague think its been set up badly to begin with. It sounds like the chain is slipping off the cog.

She stays in the front middle cog and the smallest ring on the cassette most of the time. It is this rear cog that is going and NOT the front chainring which is what she said at first. I couldn't see much wear in it though.