LEJOG in 7 Days For Charity

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

madman2018

Hi Everyone.
Brand new member here so this is my first post :smile:
I'm a gap year student volunteering in Africa with a charity called Balloon Ventures in Spring 2018 (check them out, they're super cool)
ANYWAY
I'm fundraising £800 toward the charity, and decided to cycle the LEJOG in 7 days as part of my fundraising challenge.
I'm a pretty decent cycler, so I don't think fitness should be an issue. However, I'll be doing it unsupported/solo. Any ideas for what the best way to get it done in the fastest time is? I.E. Camping vs hostels, vs little sleep :smile: ?
I've got a bike, and a basic kit list, but I think I need more advice/prep in general.
Thanks in Advance folks.

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Welcome to the forum. Don’t have any specific advice re your challenge but I’m sure others who have done it will chime in. Good luck.
Some good video on YouTube which might help you.

View: https://youtu.be/vg1HvJ4s3os

Last edited:

jay clock

Massive member
A demanding thing. That will be 140 miles a day. I would reckon camping would be to tough, but who knows!

Here is the Deloitte RAB 2017 route GPX files with a pdf for each day. You will need to upload the GPX into RWGPS https://www.dropbox.com/sh/8f582ky77jqfdt6/AADdSCxDN7cPrVxbV0uMhT3xa?dl=0

You need to fund the cost of the trip out of your own pocket, otherwise any sensible person will tell you to fark off. Don't try the "raise £2000 and use half to pay the hotel bills" trick. That is just a free holiday

Ajax Bay

Guru
I observe OP has not been back to CycleChat since his OP (22 Dec).
I'll be doing it unsupported/solo. Any ideas for what the best way to get it done in the fastest time is? I.E. Camping vs hostels, vs little sleep