little help with weight problem(to little)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

photography27

hi, i'm new to the worldof cycling, i have a mtb which i use to commute to work(12 mile round trip). my problem is i am 6ft and abit on the lean side, i would like to put on abit of weight(not fat but muscle) using the cycling, any tips on what to eat would be a great advantage to me.
thanks

Cycling is primarily an endurance activity. You'll build muscle strength (particulary legs), but you won't pack on much bulk.

You need to hit the gym and do some weights work. Low repetitions and highish weights.

Keep with the cycling though, the leaner you are the easier to get a six pack!

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Nothing wrong with being lean - you'll fly up hills once you get a good base mileage behind you.

You don't mention age, nor weight - if under 30 then don't worry, things will change after..... if over 30 then thank the stars.....

Training will build muscle bulk - most experienced cyclists have large thighs, good core strength, but generally rather 'weedy' in comparison on the top half - you need to ensure core strength is good enough for the leg and cardio system ability....

jimboalee

Eat a good mix - 55% carbs, 45% protein and 10% fats.
Take a multivit.

Install a good sturdy rack and some cheap panniers.
Collect empty 2litre plastic pop bottles.
Fill them full of dirt.
Load them into the panniers.

This will increase the weight you have to accelerate and pull up the hills.

But beware, on decents you will have more inertia, so early braking is required.

Ravenz

jimboalee said:
Eat a good mix - 55% carbs, 45% protein and 10% fats.

be a bit fairer on those who take what they read on forums as 'it must be true' 'cos someone wrote it ....
..will you stop bouncing these figures about without backing them up with references!!!!!

Danny

Legendary Member
Ravenz said: