Lycra......

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
400bhp said:
Swimmers don't wear g-strings.

If you go to the baths you wear some kind of swimming apparel.

You have the approval of an internet forum if you get asked-bet that'll go down well.

JFDI

Actually, there was a chap who used to swim at our local pool wearing a beige thong. He was no Adonis either... and could clear a lane completely in a very short space of time.

JNR

I'm new to road biking and got all the gear in one go, literally everything you would need to start off. Little tool kit, pump, wedge bag, spare inners, carbon shoes (the cheaper ones didn't fit properley and felt awful, and I was getting 40% off...), clipless pedals, helmet, light carbon bike the lot.

I've done more than a hundred miles in less than a week on it. That was out, every evening after work, on the roads with rush hour traffic at times and I didn't get any hassle, apart from one person shouting something at me (I think he said 'crash it!'). I had no chaffing, I didn't have pains associated with anything other than my lack of fitness.

I've been running for years and can train for races very effectively but I haven't been exercising lately. In the winter I wear Saucony lycra leggings because they are comfy and warm. When it came to buying cycling gear I just got what I thought would be most effective, full bib shorts and a jersey and I wear hilly double layer socks for my shoes (I swear by them). I can honestly say that every pound I spent was worth it.