Missing lunch...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
The new job has funny hours and lunch tends to get pushed to about 2 pm when my main group of clients goes home.

This used to be a problem, but I'm noticing that my body is adjusting and I don't feel particularly hungry. Occasionally I need some fruit but often I reach lunchtime without any enthusiasm for food, especially as whatever I packed doesn't taste terribly appetising, mainly because I'm a rubbish cook. Thing is, it's also only a few hours before going back home so I'm not sure there's a lot of point in eating, especially as despite my best efforts the stomach refuses to get much smaller in any meaningful way. I also eat a solid breakfast.

Does anyone else miss out lunch? do you have any strategies or backup foods? I carry a box of sliced apple and possible a cereal bar in case I get a bit tired, but I'm not convinced I need any more.

If I'm busy doing something then I can easily miss out lunch. Can be anything - on a long ride, doing a job at home, working with a mate. If I get engrossed in whatever it is I can miss lunch quite easily. Until the pressure comes off, then I realise I've missed lunch and want something.
In my younger days I used to do long fell races. These were 50/60/70 miles. Usually started at 9AM and I could easily carry on to the finish at 8/9/10 PM with little more the occasional piece of cake at checkpoints.

Mmmmmm... Cat shows and photography gigs can lead to strange hours for food. Been there, done that...

Instead of packing a lunch, just switch to stuff that can be thrown back into the cupboard or fruit bowl if it's not eaten. So cereal bars, crisps, nuts, dried fruit, kit kats, rice cakes, tangerines...

A decent breakfast and hearty supper should then sort it.

PaulSB

Legendary Member