Mobiles Phones

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Neddy

I'm new to this, so apologies for starting a new thread, but I couldn't find anything similar when I searched...

Anyway, I've noticed a new phenomenon just lately that seems to be getting more common. The message about not using your mobile whilst driving seems to be getting through to some drivers at least. Unfortunately, the solution seems to be to pull up immediately. It doesn't matter if you're on double yellows, zigzags, in the cycle lane, on an urban clearway or even just a road busy with rush hour traffic. You can even mount the pavement and scatter a few pedestrians if you want. So long as you stop, you'll be alright.
It might be pedantic, but I thought that while ever the engine is running, you're still officially driving. And there's the small matter of consideration for other road users.

Has anyone else got any thoughts on this one?

OP
OP
Neddy

Neddy

Mobile Phones

Spotted my first typo. Not a good start.

domd1979

Veteran
Certainly for PCVs its an offence to use hand held mobile with the engine running regardless of if stationary and handbrake on.

User3143 said:
No, as long as the handbrake is applied and the car is in neutral, you are stationary and therefore not driving.

marinyork

Resting in suspended Animation
Well I disagree the message is getting through, I think it's pretty much as bad as ever, but that's another discussion.

I disagree that pulling up is essentially the worst thing to do. It is quite common to see someone carry on driving with their mobile looking for a space to pull up and carry on and on and on (usually paying no attention and driving at erratic speeds). I'd rather they didn't at all but there are much worse things than pulling up immediately.