More "aaaagh what wheels" questions!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jay clock

Massive member
I have a BMC racemaster SLX01 which has Easton Circuit wheels on it. Great general purpose wheels. I use it as an all round road bike but do triathlons so erring towards the TT style of riding. I am doing another Olympic distance race soon and want to beat my PB so something faster would be good! However next year I am moving up to Ironman distance (Austria so hilly but not excessive) so comfort and all round ability is also important

It seems that the more aero I go the less weight I save....current wheels are 1700g allegedly and about £250 to £300 new. I do not want to spend a few hundred quid for zero benefit and equally buying a £400 pair, I might as well stick with the Eastons. Any idea what time benefit more aero wheels will give me on an undulating 40k course?

Things I am looking at are

Mavic Cosmic Carbone SL £750
Dura Ace WH7850 £900
SRAM S60?

I have decided I want clinchers with aluminium braking surfaces. I am on the solid side (86kg and 5'10)

All tips ideas and comments welcome

Jay

gavintc

Guru
I too have looked at the deep section wheels. Many of the guys in my club ride them and reportedly, they are most beneficial when running at speed and not climbing. There is a weight penalty with that extra aerodynamic surface, but this works at speed (over 30kph?). I have Mavic SL clinchers and am pretty happy with them. The thinning braking surfaces will probably demand a replacement sometime next year and I have started asking and looking around at options. So like you, am pondering.

battered

Guru
I think the lack of replies is due to the fact that you propose spending more on wheels than many of us spend on a bike!