Most important, carbon frame or higher quality components

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi there, I'm fairly new to the bike scene, I love off road stuff with family and friends, but that usually involves planning and travelling, so I mostly cycle on the roads, for this reason I've decided to treat myself to a road bike. I am looking to spend up to a £1000. I have looked at the cube peloton with alu frame, carbon forks and decent spec, I have also looked at the giant Defy 1, Both bikes seem to get good ratings. Then there's ribble who offer a bike building service, if I go there, for a £1000 I could get a full carbon bike, but with lower spec components. I know ribble get their frames from Taiwan, is this a problem or are they every bit as good as other carbon frames. Hope someone can help me make a final decision. Look forward to your experienced views.

vickster

Legendary Member
All frames come from the Far East, be it China or Taiwan etc. I don't know a lot about it, but there are different qualities of carbon fibre

Buy the bike that fits you best and is most aesthetically pleasing

What are you wanting from the bike - a good alu frame can be as light and stiff as a carbon frame, the Cannondale CAAD alu frames are extremely well regarded. What makes you think carbon is the way to go?

OP
OP
W

Wilpshire plodder

Cheers vickster, that's pretty much what the LBS said. I would be using the bike for commuting to and from work ( about 20 miles a day ) and weekend pleasure rides, I was thinking perhaps a carbon bike would be more comfortable to ride.
But is it worth paying more for the frame and using cheaper components.

vickster

Legendary Member
The problem with carbon frames and commuting is fitting a fixed rack (you can't) and decent muguards - again very difficult as they don't have the right holes (or indeed any holes)