MTB Suspension Lockout

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
As I have no experience of MTB in the modern age, I just wondered how the remote lock out of suspension worked, and more importantly, when its locked out how does it not damage things? or am I being a bit stupid, I mean if the rear is locked out, surely something has to absorb the knocks etc, usually the frame, don't it wear something out as moving parts are obstructed to effectively make it not bounce?

Or am I missing the point somewhere?

Many thanks all, I am thinking of getting a MTB and was wondering you see !

As I have no experience of MTB in the modern age, I just wondered how the remote lock out of suspension worked, and more importantly, when its locked out how does it not damage things? or am I being a bit stupid, I mean if the rear is locked out, surely something has to absorb the knocks etc, usually the frame, don't it wear something out as moving parts are obstructed to effectively make it not bounce?

Or am I missing the point somewhere?

Many thanks all, I am thinking of getting a MTB and was wondering you see !

Most Lockout's with or without the remote, will have a pressure override, so if you drop the front wheel into a pot hole or or hidden hole then it will in most cases override the lockout, so save blowing the seals

Bicycle

I have only ever ridden and owned hardtails, so I know nothing of rear suspension.

However, lockout on front forks is a wonderful thing.

If you're going over fairly smooth XC-type stuff, you really don't need front suspension. With it locked, the bike turns in better, responds better and is easier to move - much more like a road bike or an old-fashioned MTB.

But... for the bumpy, rocky, tumbly, juddery stuff, you want the forks to be soaking it all up and stopping your forearms getting too pumped.

It's simple to switch over and worth doing for better control, comfort and speed on both (all) types of terrain.