Mud, gravel or mountain

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I’m in East Yorkshire, we don’t have a lot of gravel, but, we do have a lot of grass/mud tracks. What is best for those? Cheap hard tail MTB or a gravel bike. A gravel bike is guess will be over £1k. But I could pick up a decent used mountain bike for a quarter of that.

Pale Rider

Legendary Member
The 'decent used mountain bike' and two sets of tyres - knobbly and shallow tread - would be the cost effective solution.

Avoid a 'one by' geared MTB as top gear will be too low for the faster tyres.

Dogtrousers

Kilometre nibbler
How far do you want to ride? Do you want to do all/most your riding off road? Or mix and match.

I'm no expert on this but the advantage of a gravel bike is that it's really just as happy on the road, whereas the same may not be true of a MTB. That said, there are plenty of people who ride MTBs on the road quite happily - really depends on the tyres.

Heltor Chasca

Out-riding the Black Dog
I use Schwalbe Smart Sam tyres on my hardtail and that means I can cover good distances over a period of days. One of my favourite trips is mainly off road but that can consist hard packed canal paths and chalk roads. The middle pattern means there isn’t a huge amount of rolling resistance but they are luggy as you go towards the edge of the tyre. They aren’t ideal but haven’t disappointed too much in wet clay. Fine in loam and on turf.

SkipdiverJohn

Deplorable Brexiteer
What is best for those? Cheap hard tail MTB or a gravel bike. A gravel bike is guess will be over £1k. But I could pick up a decent used mountain bike for a quarter of that.