Mud

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Cathryn

Legendary Member
So I'm new at this MTB stuff - very new, very cautious and loving it. But I'm already thinking about mud season (which is literally November - April here). I get super nervous in mud - I feel my back wheel slip and I squeal and slam on the brakes and stop. Any tips please about how to ride through mud? Thanks.

Oldhippy

Cynical idealist
A huge smile and have fun!

Drago

Legendary Member
Power! You need to be clipped in, but the best technique when it starts to go is to pull up rearwards on thne inside pedal. Takes a bit of practice to master (every snowfall i rush out to practice) but once you've cracked it you'll never low-side again.

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
My tip for riding through mud is to...

... avoid riding through mud! :laugh:

(I really hate getting me and my bike's drivetrain covered in mud. I would put up with a few minutes of it, but that's my limit.)

There's 2 factors to this stuff:
being confident/relaxed instead of scared - and the actual technique stuff.

Sounds like your problem is the former ... is it a problem at low speeds i.e. when you're only really likely to get muddy+embarassed when you topple over? Or is it when going faster, where's there some risk of hitting something hard?

(I'm not very skilled, so not much use for the technique stuff ... but as a general coward I have experience of getting braver in certain situations!)

OP
OP
Cathryn

Cathryn

Legendary Member
There's 2 factors to this stuff:
being confident/relaxed instead of scared - and the actual technique stuff.

Sounds like your problem is the former ... is it a problem at low speeds i.e. when you're only really likely to get muddy+embarassed when you topple over? Or is it when going faster, where's there some risk of hitting something hard?