My limited observations of a Turbo trainer

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

johnnyb47

Guru
Hi.
Yesterday I took the plunge and bought a turbo trainer.
I've never used one before so my impressions of it are still in the early stages.
The main reasons why I wanted one is purely because I'm fed up of cycling in the dark on these cold winter nights after work. The roads I use are very remote and absolutely filthy. My cycle rides seem to have become very sporadic of late and I purely wanting to get some more training in without the awful weather..
I've done around twenty miles now on the turbo trainer with a medium resistance and using a high gear on my road bike.
They've been split into two 30 minute workout outs, with a large fan placed in front of me and some music to cycle along to.
It is hard going using a turbo trainer compared to real outdoor cycling. You really do build up a sweat on them and feel totally whacked after giving it everything you can. I'm putting this down to having to constantly keep the pedals spinning to clock up the miles. You don't get to stop peddling on a turbo trainer like you would out on the roads where there are hills to freewheel down and give you those moments to recoup. I think the turbo trainer is going to work wonders for me over the winter months in building my stamina and overall fitness and highly recommend one to anybody thinking of buying one. As some as the weather gets better, I hope my time on the turbo trainer will hold me in stead for my upcoming summer adventures on my bike again. :-) :-)

Use a fan

Tin Pot

Guru
Even on the easier efforts, the constant output is strikingly different to on road. I’ve tried to put the same continuous and consistent power out on the road, but it’s tough with all the road furniture and even the slightest change in gradient.

Apparently you can learn it over time.

Use a fan
Position the fan well.