National cycle route 1

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

steven87

I’m relatively new to cycling but I’ve been training for a charity cycle from Aberdeen children’s hospital to Edinburgh sick kids hospital then onto St John’s hospital. It’s around 170/180 miles over 2 days.

Just wondering if anyone has cycled the national cycle route 1 from Aberdeen to Edinburgh and can advise me what the roads are like generally, if they’re really hilly etc? Just so I know what we’re going into. Thanks

Brandane

Legendary Member
I’m relatively new to cycling but I’ve been training for a charity cycle from Aberdeen children’s hospital to Edinburgh sick kids hospital then onto St John’s hospital. It’s around 170/180 miles over 2 days.

Just wondering if anyone has cycled the national cycle route 1 from Aberdeen to Edinburgh and can advise me what the roads are like generally, if they’re really hilly etc? Just so I know what we’re going into. Thanks
Are you sticking strictly to NCN1 or is it just a guide?
Looking at the map there, it takes some strange route south of Aberdeen, presumably to avoid the old A90. Since the Aberdeen bypass was opened (AWPR) I would imagine that cycling that section of the old A90 between Aberdeen and Stonehaven might be safe enough? Under no circumstances would I have cycled the A90 prior to the AWPR being built! @Mrs M will have better local knowledge of that section.
I haven't cycled NCN1 up that far but from driving it many times between Aberdeen and Dundee via Montrose I would say lumpy rather than mountainous.
I have cycled "The Cleish" south of Kinross, and that is quite a climb. Seems you have a choice of route though if not strictly following NCN1, north of Glenrothes, you can go on NCN766 which looks shorter, has more traffic free sections, and follows more of the coast. Plus it avoids The Cleish.

battered

Guru